Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi everyone

This content can get pretty heavy, so lets begin a little humor hehe

Image

Now on topic.

Today I’m talking about some key differences between Christians and Atheists. When stating my view, I am not implying the Christian view is always the opposite and I also realise not every Christian or Atheist fits within the same category. I am simply addressing the general differences between an Atheist like myself and and the general Christian view.

These points address how we make our decisions and relate them to other people:

  1. Dodging Questions: I won’t ever dodge around a question, if you ask me a grand question I don’t know the answer to I will tell you I don’t know. I wont try change the topic and or formulate a response just for the sake of having one. To me this is called having integrity. Its not about my ego, or proving anyone right/wrong, its about finding the truth.
  2. Emotions: When somebody asks you a questions that challenges your beliefs, don’t get mad. Just answer the question and back up your belief, there is no need to bring emotions into the equation. If something is real, then there will be reasons for it. If you can’t answer the question, your belief is flawed either in your understanding of it, or in the belief itself.
  3. Burden of Proof: The burden of proof lies with the person making the grand claim. Don’t claim something is real unless you can back it up with scientific evidence. If the science isn’t there yet to prove your claim, at least apply a logical non contradictory train of thought that can be agreed upon as “possible”.
  4. Argument Ad Populum: I wont ever try convince you by saying “Millions of people believe this, so it must be true” because this has no merit in regards to the truth. Everybody used to think the world was flat, but luckily we did the research and now know it isn’t. I actually believe it is immoral, and misleading to use this sort of association to try convince people of so called “truth” without using evidence. If you have evidence, use it. Don’t discourage people from looking for real answers.
  5. Afterlife: I believe the possibility of having no afterlife actually makes our time on earth more important, there is more incentive to do good in this lifetime and stop the injustices in the world rather than waiting for a perfect paradise after death.
  6. The Ego: I will admit I’m wrong if you are willing to prove me wrong. I previously posted a Zietguiste film snippet and advocated it, which on further research I found certain parts to be based on flawed research. I was wrong on one aspect of a theory. I will be open to changing my opinion if you give me scientific evidence, most Christians aren’t open to changing their opinion if given the evidence, because they trust a different kind of evidence, like personal testimony (we have thousands of individual and group testimonials of alien sightings and encounters in modern times). More people still believe in God than aliens, even though no sightings have been claimed in thousands of years.
  7. Greater Good: I believe that having good feelings/emotions is a result of human relationships and interactions, even listening to a beautiful song can evoke these feelings. If you believe these are a higher power or are inspired by a higher power, prove it without circular reasoning.
  8. Atheism: I understand that atheism isn’t a religion, cult or group containing its own limiting scriptures to follow, there is no atheist handbook. The general consensus is a rejection of all deity based religious claims based on a lack of scientific evidence. Atheism doesn’t tell you how to live your life, the general consensus is related to finding the truth. Atheists are usually open minded. In both groups of Atheism and Christianity you will find people who aren’t willing to do the research, but are willing to make bold claims. I have no respect for people like this no matter what you believe.
  9. Circular Argument: Circular reasoning has no merit. The bible doesn’t prove itself, you need to show and external source to prove that book. Don’t quote people like Josephus, who clearly lived and created writings way after the life of Jesus, he was born 7 years after Jesus died, so why would anyone believe anything he has to say about a man he never saw. Give us a script published during or at least near his lifetime, and I will consider Jesus as a historical figure. (Please don’t tell me how many historians with PHDs think he was real, I don’t really care, that is an ad populum argument, show me the relevant texts and I will consider that)
  10. Morality: I don’t believe Christians have a moral high ground, I believe secular morality has more integrity due to the contradictory nature of the bible. Many Christians simply don’t know, or choose to ignore the parts of the bible where God/Jesus contradicts the “all loving moral guy” image that Christians promote. We will get into specific examples of this next.

 

Now lets set the tone for the following video

Image


I will now introduce you guys to Matt Dillahunty who appears in the next video

tumblr_lzpj2jRoSh1r8ua5xo1_500

Matt is a public speaker who promotes secular morality and atheism. He debates many key issues (not just religion) at American universities, but don’t take my word for it listen to what he has to say below. He was a Christian studying up to become a minister, the more he learned, the less he was able to defend his religious claims. He knows the bible better than most Christians, and has relies on the foundations of logic and reason to state that we don’t have any reason to believe a God exists because there is insufficient evidence. I’ll talk more about him later, just check out this video first.

 

Here (on the right) Matt addresses morality in relation to claims of a Christian God. This 8 minute clip is from the show: “The Atheist Experience”.

Matt is not foolish enough to make absolute statements like “God doesn’t exist” as this is equally unprovable as the claim that he does exist. His core goals aren’t to ridicule or bash Christians who debate him in real life or on his “Atheist Experience” show. His core aims are to promote the truth. What he claims is the truth is backed up by scientific evidence. Not faith. He among most atheists and scientists don’t claim to have the answer for everything, but are in pursuit of the truth, and the more we research and test, the more we find. There is more integrity to admitting “we simple don’t know yet” and looking for the answer than believing an idea is correct that has no material evidence or logical foundation.

 

Definition of faith – dictionary.com

Belief that does not rest on logical proof or material evidence.

The reason most religious debates don’t get anywhere is because both sides appreciate different things. What a religious person generally considers evidence is not seen as that by a skeptic. I would love to talk about all these issue more for anyone who is willing, I can only see as many perspectives as my brain would allow, so I’d love to hear yours.

 

Please refrain from commenting if you haven’t read all my points, and watched the video. This has happened on previous posts, this is not how you have a discussion, responding without reading is called preaching. We can only have a discussion if we are willing to listen to the other side.

Thanks for reading everyone! Have your say in the comments 🙂

